Yiddishland logo

Dear Community of YAAANA and Yiddishland California,

We are delighted to remind you of our special Valentine’s Day Event, Kafka’s Last Love, scheduled for this Wednesday, Feb. 14, at 6:30 p.m. PT. The event will be available both in person and on Zoom. We are honored to have Kathi Diamant as our esteemed speaker, who will delve into the romantic history between Franz Kafka and the Yiddishist Dora Diamant. IMPORTANT! Due to high interest in the event, we have moved our event to a larger venue on Mt. Soledad. Exact address details will be provided upon registration. Thank you for your understanding, and we look forward to seeing you there!

Additionally, we have exciting new additions to our online activities on Zoom! Join us for a Yiddish yoga session, Yoga farn hartzn (Yoga for the Heart), on Sunday, February 24, at 8 a.m. PT. We are also pleased to announce a new Conversational Yiddish class for Beginners starting on Thursday, March 28, at 12.30 PT.To learn the details, please visit our newsletter at: https://yiddishlandcalifornia.org/yiddishland-newsletter

    Mit libshaft (With love),

    Jana and the teams of YAAANA and Yiddishland

    Kafka’s Last Love: The Mystery of Dora Diamant

    book-web2

    Join us for our unique Yiddishized Valentine’s Day event welcoming couples and singles. World-renowned local author Kathi Diamant will present her book, Kafka’s Last Love, winner of many accolades, including receiving the Theodor Geisel Award and recognition as one of the “Best Biographies of the Year” by The Sunday Herald. The book discusses Franz Kafka’s fascination with Yiddish culture and the Yiddishist Dora Diamant, as well as Dora’s efforts for Yiddish-culture revival. Nosh and drinks will be served. The event will also be broadcast on Zoom. IMPORTANT! Due to high interest, we’ve moved our event to a larger residential venue on Mt. Soledad. Exact address details will be provided upon registration. Thank you for your understanding.

    When: Wednesday, February 14, at 6.30 – 8:00 p.m. PT (8:30 p.m. CT, 9:30 p.m. ET)

    Where: On Mt. Soledad and on Zoom

    Cost:

    Without the Book In Person, Nosh and Drinks Included: $18

    With the Signed Book, In Person, Nosh and Drinks Included: $40

    Zoom without the Book: $18

    Zoom with the Book (Shipped to you): $40

    Author: Kathi Diamant 

    Kathi Diamant, born in New York City and raised internationally, is a multi-talented figure with a passion for theatre, stemming from her theatrically inclined parents. She graduated with a BA in Theatre Arts from Florida State University and has been active in stage, film, and TV since 1988. She’s acclaimed for her book “Kafka’s Last Love,” which explores the life of Dora Diamant and Franz Kafka, and is internationally recognized. Diamant leads the Kafka Project at SDSU, searching for Kafka’s lost papers. With over 25 years in broadcast media and journalism in San Diego, she’s received numerous awards including an Emmy, and is married to actor/writer Byron La Due.

     Yoga Farn Hartzn with Tanya Yakovleva

    book-web2

    In this yoga class we will tone muscle and cultivate self love to remind you that you are awesome. The slow and gentle nature of this class is perfect for beginners and is also great for other students who can sink deeper into their practice. The language of instruction is Yiddish with English translation.

    When: Sunday, Feb. 25, 8 a.m. PT (10 a.m. CT, 11 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. in the UK, 5 p.m. in most of Europe, 6 p.m. in Israel)

    Where: Online via Zoom

    Cost:

    $10 – Early Bird (available until Thursday, February 15)

    $15 – Regular

    $10 for students with a valid student ID

    Instructor: Tanya Yakovleva

    Tetyana (Tanya) Yakovleva is a Yiddish lecturer of the Yiddish Arts and Academics Association of North America (YAAANA) and a literature lecturer at YIVO Institute for Jewish Research. She studied Comparative Literature, Classical, Slavic, Jewish, and Media Studies at the universities of Kharkiv, Regensburg, Bari, and San Diego and received her PhD in Slavic and Jewish Studies from the University of Regensburg in 2019. Tanya is a certified yoga teacher (RYT 200) and sees her mission in bringing joy and equilibrium to people through the Mind-Body-Spirit connection.

    Conversational Yiddish for Beginners with Avi

    book-web2

    Come enjoy some fun conversation in Yiddish, practicing asking and answering questions and playing games. This is a no-pressure, easygoing class. The class is “drop-in” style, so feel free to attend all six sessions or as many as you wish. Everything will be presented in Yiddish with transliteration, as well as in English. There is no homework, but optional review materials will be sent out after each class. Sessions will be recorded upon request.

    When: Thursdays, beginning on March 28, ending on May 2, 12:30 – 1.30 p.m. PT (2:30 – 3:30 p.m. CT, 3:30 – 4:30 p.m. ET)

    Where: Online via Zoom

    Cost:

    Early Bird : $150 for a 6 session package (available until Thursday, March 14)

    Regular Admission : $200 for a 6 session package

    Individual Session Early Bird : $30 (available until; Thursday, March 14)

    Individual Session Regular : $35 

    Yiddishland Stronger Together Support Group

    book-web2

    Do you feel sadness, grief, anxiety, or a mix of emotions from the devastating effects of war? Let’s gather for community support, guided by a professional coach informed in trauma care. We don’t have to grapple with this by ourselves. This is the time to come together.

    When: Mondays, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. PST (9:30 p.m. to 11:30 p.m. EST, 8:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. CST)

    Where: Downtown La Jolla, exact address available upon registration, and on Zoom

    Cost:

    Donation-based ($5-$15)