Loading Events

« All Events

Yiddish for Beginners with Avi Fried

January 29 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

$25

This is an alef-beys (alphabet) learning course that will teach how to read Yiddish in Yiddish. We will start with vowels and add consonants, until we are familiar and comfortable with the letters. This class requires no previous knowledge or exposure to Yiddish. By the end of the first class, one will have the ability to read a full Yiddish sentence. The main goal of this program is for the student to feel comfortable and confidant with reading in Yiddish. We will begin to learn the basics of expression (wanting, having, being, doing…) as well as becoming familiar with Yiddish verbs and conjugation. This is a go-light-go-easy style class; no pressure, no shaming – all taught with humor from The Simpsons!

When:
6 online sessions on Sundays, from January 15 – February 19
11:00 a.m.– 12:00 p.m. PT
1:00 p.m.– 2:00 p.m. CT
2:00 p.m.– 3:00 p.m. ET

Where:
Online via Zoom

Tuition:
$150 all 6 weeks or $25 for a 60-minute online class.

Learn more/sign up for this event

Details

Date:
January 29
Time:
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Cost:
$25

Venue

Zoom