Gmar Chatima Tova and new Yiddishland offerings in 5783

Dear Friend of YAAANA and Yiddishland California,

We hope that the year 5783 is unfolding nicely for you!  Gmar Chatima Tova – may you be inscribed in the book of life.

We would like to announce a few new courses we will be offering this Fall. Tamara Gleason and Arturo Kerbel will teach a Yiddish shmueskrayz – now for all levels of Yiddish speakers. Ekaterina Kuznitsova will teach courses on Yiddish grammar and prepositions. Tanya Yakovleva will teach reading circles and Yiddish yoga sessions.

For further information regarding our upcoming October events please visit here.

Looking forward to seeing you in 5783, in person and online! 

The YAAANA and Yiddishland team

www.yiddishlandcalifornia.org
info@yiddishland.ca

Courses Taught by Tanya Yakovleva

Tanya Yakovleva

Tanya studied Comparative Literature, Classical, Slavic, Jewish, and Media Studies at the universities of Kharkiv, Regensburg, Bari, and San Diego. She received her PhD in Slavic and Jewish Studies from the University of Regensburg in 2019 and since then she has been teaching for YAAANA.

Leyenkrayz for Beginner and Intermediate Students

In this course, students of beginner and intermediate level will practice reading and translating skills without judgment and comparisons. We will read different texts, translate them and learn grammar. You will learn a new vocabulary and have an understanding of the Yiddish history and culture. 

When: Thursdays 1:00 p.m. PT (3:00 p.m. CT, 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. in most of Europe, 11:00 p.m. in Israel), starting on October 20, ending on December 22.

Where: on Zoom

Tuition: $230 all 10 weeks or $25 for a 60-minute online class.

Early Bird (before June 15): $180 all 10 weeks or $20 for a 60-minute online class. 

Students: $180 all 10 weeks or $20 for a 60-minute online class.

Leyenkrayz for Intermediate and Advanced Students 

In this course conducted entirely in Yiddish, students of intermediate II level will practice reading and translating skills without judgment and comparisons. We will continue to read and translate Itsik Manger’s satirical novel Di vunderlekhe lebns-bashraybung fun Shmuel-Abe Abervo (Dos bukh fun gan-eydn) /The Amazing Life Story of Shmuel-Abe Abervo (The Book of the Garden of Eden) written in 1939. You will learn a new vocabulary and have an understanding of the Yiddish history and culture. 

When: Mondays 1 p.m. PT (3 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. in most of Europe, 11 p.m. in Israel), starting on October 24, ending on December 26.

Where: on Zoom

Tuition: $230 all 10 weeks or $25 for a 60-minute online class.

Early Bird (before June 15): $180 all 10 weeks or $20 for a 60-minute online class. 

Students: $180 all 10 weeks or $20 for a 60-minute online class.

Balance Yoga in Yiddish

In this yoga class we will balance your mind and body to maintain your mental and physical fitness and to feel happy. The slow and gentle nature of this class is perfect for beginners and is also great for other students who can sink deeper into their practice. The language of instruction is Yiddish with English translation.

When: Sunday, 8 a.m. PT (10 a.m. CT, 11 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. in the UK, 5 p.m. in most of Europe, 6 p.m. in Israel), October 30

Yoga For Gratitude in Yiddish

In this yoga class we will practice yoga and mindfulness that focuses on gratitude. Gratitude and yoga help detoxify the mind, body and connect to a larger reason for being.The slow and gentle nature of this class is perfect for beginners and is also great for other students who can sink deeper into their practice. The language of instruction is Yiddish with English translation.

When: Sunday, 8 a.m. PT (10 a.m. CT, 11 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. in the UK, 5 p.m. in most of Europe, 6 p.m. in Israel), November 27

New Year Intentions with Yoga in Yiddish

Set some new intentions for 2023 in this yoga class. Join in to let go of all of the ups and downs of 2022 and step into the New Year with a focused, clear, determined and hopeful version of yourself. The slow and gentle nature of this class is perfect for beginners and is also great for other students who can sink deeper into their practice. The language of instruction is Yiddish with English translation.

When: Sunday, 8 a.m. PT (10 a.m. CT, 11 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. in the UK, 5 p.m. in most of Europe, 6 p.m. in Israel), December 25

 

Cost: $15 ($10 for students)

Yiddish Shmueskrayz with Tamara Gleason and Arturo Kerbel

Yiddish for Beginners II

If you want to practice your Yiddish and have a good time getting to know people, this is the right course for you. We will speak in mame-loshn about diverse topics. We will have a conversation both as a group and in smaller cohorts. Some of the sessions will be focused on a specific topic. We will also try to solve a couple of riddles and learn some Yiddish expressions and sayings to enrich our Yiddish repertoire. This is a course for beginner, intermediate and advanced learners of Yiddish as we will be working according to level.

When: Thursdays, at 2:30 p.m. PT (4:30 p.m. CT, 5:30 p.m. ET, 9:30 p.m. GMT), starting on October 6, ending on November 11. Each session is 60 minutes long.

Where: Online via Zoom

Cost: $25 per session or 6 sessions for $120

Teachers:

Arturo Kerbel

Arturo Kerbel is a clinical psychologist (U Iberoamericana, Mexico), cognitive neuroscientist (UCL, King’s College London), and lifelong Yiddish activist. He led a student group resisting the exclusion of Yiddish from the school curriculum, received a grant from the Abraham Golomb Fund at age 14, and from the Ashkenazi Community at age 16, to continue with the fight. He founded Idishe Shtub Mx, a group of young Yiddish activists offering lessons and other cultural activities. He is the current coordinator of Yiddish House London, an informal organization planning Yiddish trips for young people around Europe, Yiddish lessons, Jewish holiday celebrations, and outreach projects in Jewish communities in Lithuania and Belarus.

 

Tamara Gleason

Tamara Gleason Freidberg is a historian (MPhil by UNAM, Mexico) and a gerontologist (MSc by King’s College London). She is the author of Di Shvue, los bundistas en México y su participación en la comunidad judía. Her work includes publications on Mexican Yiddish literature and the Jewish Left in Mexico. Tamara facilitates Yiddish sessions at the Holocaust Survivor’s Centre, is an active organiser of the Yiddish Open Mic (London) and Yiddish House London. As a PhD candidate at UCL London, she currently studies the Yiddish press in Mexico, its’ sources and its’ unique role in the communication of news about the Holocaust as it developed.

Courses Taught by Katerina Kuznetsova

Katerina Kuznetsova

Katerina Kuznetsova has been teaching Yiddish (language, grammar, and literature) for YAAANA since 2020. Currently, she is doing the Yiddish Pedagogy Fellowship with Yiddish Book Center. 

She was born in Moscow where she studied Literature, Pedagogics, and Religious Studies. In 2016, Katerina graduated from the MA program in Yiddish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She lives in Berlin, where she co-founded the initiative Yiddish.Berlin – a group of artists and activists that organises cultural events involving Yiddish literature and culture

 

Let’s talk about Yiddish grammar! 

In this free Q&A session, you will be able to ask grammar questions that you find the most interesting and/or difficult. We will discuss why it is sometimes so challenging to learn Yiddish grammar (or any other grammar) and how much the knowledge of grammar correlates with language acquisition. We will speak about different approaches to learning grammar and what can work the best for you. 

This session is an introduction to the series of workshops about Yiddish grammar. 

 

When: Sunday, 9 am PT, November 6

Yiddish Grammar Seminars

All these oyf, bay, keyn, fun… So short but extremely important words that help us put the words in a phrase together. Prepositions usually have many meanings and can be used in different contexts. We will focus on the ones that are most of all confusing for English speakers, i.e. the ones that sound like English prepositions but have completely different meanings. Participants will be able to ask questions, and we will do a lot of exercises together!

 

– Number of tickets is limited to 20.
– You can get the recording of the zoom-session in case you cannot attend live. The recording will be available for three weeks. 

 

When: Sunday, 11.30 am – 1 pm PT, November 6

Tuition: $30 / $25 Early Bird (before October 20) 

 

Seminar on Yiddish Nouns: Sunday, 10.30-12.00 PT, November 13 and 20

Yiddish Adjectives: Sunday, November 27, 10.30-12.00, November 27

Yiddish Syntax: Sunday, 10.30-12.00 PT, December 5 and 11

 

Tuition: $55 for a workshop or $30 for a 90 minute online class.

Early Bird: $45 for a workshop or $25 for a 90 minute online class.

No End to Yiddishland- an Annual Fundraiser Celebration

(Click on the image to watch the promo video by Lisa Fishman!)

We are excited to invite you to YAAANA’s 5th Anniversary, Yiddishland California’s First Anniversary, and our Annual Fundraiser Celebration, featuring musical stars of the Yiddish stage! Yale Strom, Elizabeth Schwartz, and Lisa Fishman will perform a concert titled No End to Yiddishland! Our President, Jana Mazurkiewicz Meisarosh, will briefly report on the highlights of Yiddishland in 5782 and the plans for 5783. Enjoy great music, company, heimish nosh and drinks, all going to a great cause! 

When: Saturday, October 8, 7:30 p.m. Pacific Time (9:30 p.m CT, 10:30 p.m ET)

Where: A venue in La Jolla (address provided upon registration) and via Zoom 

Tickets:

– In-person: sliding scale $60 – $180; student $36 (student ID required).

Early bird tickets for $54 available until September 24 .

– Online via Zoom: sliding scale $20-36. Early bird tickets for $18 available until  September 24.

Donations of $180 and up get you a shout-out at the event, a mention in the program, and a surprise Yiddishland gift at the event.

Additional donations to the fundraiser for this 501(c)(3) organization (tax-deductible to the extent allowable by law) are welcome and can be made here. Your donations will help sustain Yiddishland Califonia’s cultural center in 5783.

About Our Performers:

Yale Strom and Elizabeth Schwartz – internationally renowned recording artists specializing in Klezmer music and Yiddish songs and artistic advisors on YAAANA Board of Directors. Click here to listen to some of their music.

Lisa Fishman – a singer, songwriter, and actress, recently performed as Bobe Tsaytl in the Broadway production of Yiddish “Fiddler on the Roof” directed by Joel Gray. Click here to listen to some of her music.